Lisa A. Brothers, PE, Receives Francis Academy Of Distinguished Engineers Award

August, 2003; Boston, MA – Lisa A. Brothers, PE, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Nitsch Engineering in Boston, was inducted to the Francis Academy of Distinguished Engineers by the University of Massachusetts Lowell in May 2003. The award is presented to honor select alumni for their outstanding achievements and inspiration to others in the engineering industry.

To quote Krishna Vedula, Dean of the Francis College of Engineering, “The City of Lowell itself was the cradle of the Industrial Revolution in the 19th Century. The innovative climate in Lowell led to the founding of our institution, which nurtured many outstanding scientists and engineers. The recipients of the awards are testimony to this excellence of engineering education at Lowell.”

Lisa is a graduate from the University of Massachusetts Lowell and currently serves on the College of Engineering’s Industrial Advisory Board for the University. Upon receiving her award from the Dean, Lisa stated, “I joined the UMass Lowell College of Engineering Advisory Board because I wanted to give back to the College that gave me so much. I also wanted to help maintain the College’s vision to provide the highest quality and most affordable engineering education in the New England Region. This is a very important role that UMass Lowell fulfills and I’m very proud to be an Alumni.”

Lisa brings 19 years of experience in the design, construction, and management of roadway, site development, and infrastructure-related projects to the firm. She is principal, owner, and chief operating officer of Nitsch Engineering, responsible for the daily workings of the firm and keeping the staff and services of the company running smoothly. Lisa is President of the Boston Chapter of the Women’s Transportation Seminar, and a member of the Wilmington Conservation Commission, American Society of Civil Engineers, and Society of Women Engineers. She is also the 2002 Emerging Executive Pinnacle Award recipient from the Boston Chamber of Commerce.